The William Henry Fox Talbot Catalogue Raisonné

Master record for Schaaf no. 3044

28. Dublin, Black Church

Attributed to: Calvert Richard Jones

Location: Dublin

Keywords: Ireland;Architecture

The Black Church, or St Mary’s Chapel-of-Ease, was built in 1830 to serve the Church of Ireland community. The stone that was used for the church's construction is known as 'calp' which looks dark when wet by rain. This explains the church's alternative local name of ‘The Black Church’.

The church was designed in the Neo-Gothic style by the Irish architect, John Semple (1801-1882).