The William Henry Fox Talbot Catalogue Raisonné


Object within Schaaf no. 1215

The Conservative Club House, London

Object details

Image size: h 20.2cm x w 14.1cm

Paper size: h 24.9cm x w 19.8cm

Object Type: Salted Paper Print

The British Library, gift of Janet and Petronella Burnett-Brown, 1 March 2006
Fox Talbot Museum, Lacock Abbey, National Trust (LA734; 01205)

Owner: The British Library

Object owner number: Talbot Photo 2(408)

Collection: Talbot Collection

This object is part of Schaaf no. 1215

The Conservative Club House, London

Location: London

A view of the Conservative Club at 74 St. James’s Street, London. The architects were George Basevi (1794-1845) and Sydney Smirke (1798-1877). Construction started in 1843 and was completed in 1845. In 1950 the Conservative Club merged with the Bath Club and became the Bath Club in name, although retaining the Conservative Club's premises until the end of the decade.  The Club was finally dissolved in 1981.