The William Henry Fox Talbot Catalogue Raisonné


Object within Schaaf no. 1215

The Conservative Club House, London

Object details

Image size: h 20.2cm x w 14.0cm

Paper size: h 24.8cm x w 19.8cm

Object Type: Salted Paper Print

Katherine Burnett Brown (Lacock Abbey), purchased 23 May 1967

Owner: Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of American History

Object owner number: 67.172.37

Collection: Photographic History Collection

This object is part of Schaaf no. 1215

The Conservative Club House, London

Location: London

A view of the Conservative Club at 74 St. James’s Street, London. The architects were George Basevi (1794-1845) and Sydney Smirke (1798-1877). Construction started in 1843 and was completed in 1845. In 1950 the Conservative Club merged with the Bath Club and became the Bath Club in name, although retaining the Conservative Club's premises until the end of the decade.  The Club was finally dissolved in 1981.